Shivraj Singh Chouhan Wiki, Age, Wife, Family, Biography & More

Last Updated on July 29, 2021

Shivraj Singh Chouhan (born 5 March 1959), often referred to as Mamaji (meaning: Maternal Uncle in English) is an Indian politician and member of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He is the 17th and current Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, having been elected to the same position 3 times in the past, and a Member of Legislative Assembly in Madhya Pradesh from Budhni. He previously served as the Chief Minister of the Madhya Pradesh, between 2005 and 2018, and holds the record as the state’s longest serving Chief Minister. He is also currently serving as a National Vice-president, member of the Parliamentary Board and Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

As a leader of the BJP, Chouhan served as its general secretary and president of its Madhya Pradesh state unit. He joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1972, as a 13-year-old. He is a five-time Member of Parliament, having represented Vidisha in the Lok Sabha, the lower House of the Indian Parliament, between 1991 and 2006.

He is known for launching the schemes Ladli Lakshmi Yojana and Beti Bachao Abhiyan

Shivraj Singh Chouhan Age, Wife, Family, Caste, Children, Biography & More  » StarsUnfolded
17th Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh
Assumed office
23 March 2020
GovernorLalji Tandon
Anandiben Patel
(Additional Charge)
Mangubhai C. Patel
Preceded byKamal Nath
In office
29 November 2005 – 17 December 2018
Preceded byBabulal Gaur
Succeeded byKamal Nath
Vice President of Bharatiya Janata Party
In office
11 January 2019 – 26 September 2020
PresidentJ. P. Nadda
President of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha
In office
Preceded byRamashish Rai
Succeeded byG. Kishan Reddy
Member of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
Assumed office
Chief Ministerhimself
Kamal Nath
Preceded byRajendra Singh
In office
Chief MinisterSunderlal Patwa
Preceded byChauhan Singh
Succeeded byMohan Lal Shishir
Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha
In office
Prime MinisterP. V. Narasimha Rao
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
H. D. Deve Gowda
I. K. Gujral
Manmohan Singh
Preceded byAtal Bihari Vajpayee
Succeeded byRampal Singh
Personal details
Born5 March 1959 (age 62)
Sehore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Other political
National Democratic Alliance
Spouse(s)Sadhna Singh Chouhan
Alma materBarkatullah University (MA Philosophy)

Early life and education

Shivraj Singh Chouhan was born in a Kirar family to Prem Singh Chouhan and his wife Sundar Bai Chouhan in the Jait village of Sehore district, and belongs to the Kirar community. He is a gold medalist in M. A. (Philosophy) from Barkatullah University. He is an agriculturist by profession.

Early political career

His early political career can be defined as up to the point of his first election to the Lok Sabha. He was elected President of the Model School Students Union in 1975.From 1976 to 1977, he participated in underground movement against the Emergency and was imprisoned in Bhopal Jail for some time.

In his early political career, he has also been:

  • A convener of Akhil Bhartiya Keshariya Vahini from 1991 to 1992
  • A Member of Committee on Labour and Welfare from 1993 to 1996
  • A Member of Hindi Salahkar Samiti from 1994 to 2000.

Political career

Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Piyush Goyal distributing the LED Bulbs to the citizens at the launch of the UJALA Scheme in Madhya Pradesh, at Bhopal

Chouhan was first elected to the State Assembly from Budhni Constituency in 1990. He was elected a Member of Parliament for the first time in his career in 10th Lok Sabha from Vidisha Constituency in the following year.

In 1996, he was re-elected to the 11th Lok Sabha (his second term). He was Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development and Member of Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resources Development and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development from 1996 to 1997 and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development, General Secretary of BJP, Madhya Pradesh from 1997 to 1998.

Again in 1998, he was re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (third term). He was Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development and its Sub-Committee on Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment from 1998 to 1999.

His fourth term in the 13th Lok Sabha was from 1999. He was member of Committee on Agriculture from 1999 to 2000, member of Committee on Public Undertakings from 1999 to 2001, and National President of Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha from 2000 to 2003. He was also the Chairman of House Committee (Lok Sabha) and National Secretary of Bhartiya Janta Party.

The BJP swept Madhya Pradesh in the Assembly elections of December 2003. At that time, Shivraj Singh contested polls unsuccessfully against the incumbent Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh from Raghogarh.

He was a member of Consultative Committee, ministry of Communications from 2000 to 2004. He was re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (5th term) in 2004, with a margin of over 260,000 votes. He was member of Committee on Agriculture, member of Joint Committee on Offices of Profit, National General Secretary of BJP, Secretary of Parliamentary Board, and Secretary (Central Election Committee). He also headed Housing Committee of Lok Sabha, and member of Committee on Ethics.

Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s Visit at Bunder

As the state BJP President, Chouhan was chosen to become the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on 30 November 2005. He contested a by-election from Budhni assembly constituency the following year, winning his old seat by a margin of over 36,000 votes.

In 2008, Chouhan retained his Budhni seat by over 41,000 votes, and with it, led the BJP to a second consecutive victory in the state. On 12 December 2008, he was sworn in for his second term.

On 8 December 2013, Chouhan won Legislative Assembly elections from Budhni. By the margin of 84805 from a candidate of congress . He was also elected as Chief Minister of MP for a third term.

On 12 December 2018, after failing to gain a majority in the 2018 Madhya Pradesh assembly election, Chouhan resigned as Chief Minister. He once again took oath as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on 23 March 2020 after 22 Congress MLA’s resigned along with Jyotiraditya Scindia resulting in the collapse of the Kamal Nath government.

Awards and recognition

2011: NDTV Indian of the year award – Leader of New India (development)

2016: Suryoday Manavta Seva Sanman award.

You May Also Like