Pramod Sawant

Last Updated on July 22, 2021

Pramod Sawant (born 24 April 1973) is an Indian politician who is the 13th and current Chief Minister of Goa. Sawant represents the Sanquelim constituency in the Goa Legislative Assembly and is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

He is an Ayurveda Medical practitioner by profession. He was serving as the speaker of the Goa assembly before being sworn in as Chief Minister, after the death of the sitting chief minister Manohar Parrikar.

Government Of Goa | Official Portal
13th Chief Minister of Goa
Assumed office
19 March 2019
GovernorMridula SinhaSatya Pal MalikBhagat Singh KoshyariP. S. Sreedharan Pillai
DeputyManohar Ajgaonkar (from 28 March 2019)
Chandrakant Kavlekar (from 14 July 2019)
Preceded byManohar Parrikar
Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly
In office
22 March 2017 – 18 March 2019
Preceded byAnant Shet
Succeeded byRajesh Patnekar
Member of the Goa Legislative Assembly
Assumed office
Personal details
Born24 April 1973 (age 48)
Goa, India
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Other political
National Democratic Alliance
Spouse(s)Sulakshana Sawant

Early life and education

Sawant was born on 24 April 1973 to Pandurang and Padmini Sawant. He obtained a Bachelor of Ayurveda, Medicine and Surgery degree from the Ganga Education Society’s Ayurvedic Medical College in Kolhapur and a postgraduate degree of Master of Social Work from the Tilak Maharashtra University at Pune.

Early political career

Sawant started his electoral career when he contested the 2012 assembly election from Sanquelim constituency. He won the constituency by 14,255 (66.02%) votes defeating Pratap Gauns of the Indian National Congress. He also served as the spokesperson of the Goa unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party for a brief period of time. Later in 2017 he was re-elected to the Goa Legislative Assembly from the same constituency defeating Dharmesh Saglani of the Indian National Congress with 10,058 (43.04%) votes. On 22 March 2017, he was elected as the Speaker of the Goa Legislative Assembly.

Chief Minister of Goa

After the demise of Manohar Parrikar, the seat of the Chief Minister of Goa fell vacant. Pramod Sawant was elected by the Legislative Assembly afterwards and later he was sworn in as the 13th Chief Minister of Goa on 19 March 2019.

Personal life

Sawant is a Maratha by caste. Sawant is married to Sulakshana, who is a teacher of chemistry at the Shri Shantadurga Higher Secondary School in Bicholim. She is also a leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party and currently the President of the Goa unit of the BJP Mahila Morcha. Goa Institute of Public Administration and Rural Development

You May Also Like