List of current Indian chief ministers

Last Updated on August 31, 2021

In Republic of India, a chief minister is the head of government of each of the twenty-eight states and three of the eight union territories. According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the state government. The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given they have the assembly’s confidence, the chief minister’s term is usually for a maximum of five years; there are no limits to the number of terms they can serve.

At Present, the office of Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir is vacant. Of the thirty incumbents, one is a woman—Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. Serving since 5 March 2000 (for 21 years, 178 days), Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik has the longest incumbency. Amarinder Singh (b. 11 March 1942) of Punjab is the oldest chief minister while Arunachal Pradesh’s Pema Khandu (b. 21 August 1979) is the youngest. Nitish Kumar has served for the most terms (7).Twelve incumbents belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party and three to the Indian National Congress; no other party has more than one chief minister in office.

(past chief ministers)
NamePortraitTook office
(tenure length)
Party Ministry
Andhra Pradesh
Y. S. Jagan Mohan ReddyThe Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Shri Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy.jpg30 May 2019
(2 years, 92 days)
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress PartyReddy
Arunachal Pradesh
Pema KhanduPema Khandu in July 2016.jpg17 July 2016
(5 years, 44 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyKhandu II
Himanta Biswa SarmaHimanta Biswa Sarma.jpg10 May 2021
(112 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartySarma
Nitish KumarThe Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar meeting with the Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia to finalize Annual Plan 2007-08 of the State, in New Delhi on February 14, 2007 (Nitish Kumar) (cropped).jpg22 February 2015
(6 years, 189 days)
Janata Dal (United)Nitish Kumar VII
Bhupesh BaghelBhupesh Baghel.jpg17 December 2018
(2 years, 256 days)
Indian National CongressBaghel
Arvind KejriwalArvind Kejriwal September 02, 2017 crop.jpg14 February 2015
(6 years, 197 days)
Aam Aadmi PartyKejriwal III
Pramod SawantThe Chief Minister of Goa, Shri Pramod Sawant.jpg19 March 2019
(2 years, 164 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartySawant
Vijay RupaniVijay Rupani.jpg7 August 2016
(5 years, 23 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyRupani II
Manohar Lal KhattarManohar Lal Khattar 2015.jpg26 October 2014
(6 years, 308 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyKhattar II
Himachal Pradesh
Jai Ram ThakurJai Ram Thakur.jpg27 December 2017
(3 years, 246 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyThakur
Hemant SorenChief Minister of Jharkhand Shri Hemant Soren.jpg29 December 2019
(1 year, 244 days)
Jharkhand Mukti MorchaSoren II
Basavaraj BommaiBommai, in New Delhi on August 17, 2012 (cropped) (cropped).jpg28 July 2021
(33 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyBommai
Pinarayi VijayanPinarayi Vijayan 1.jpg25 May 2016
(5 years, 97 days)
Communist Party of India (Marxist)Vijayan II
Madhya Pradesh
Shivraj Singh Chouhan23 March 2020
(1 year, 160 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyChouhan IV
Uddhav ThackerayThe Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Uddhav Thackeray calling on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, in New Delhi on February 21, 2020 (Uddhav Thackeray) (cropped).jpg28 November 2019
(1 year, 275 days)
Shiv SenaThackeray
N. Biren SinghThe Chief Minister of Manipur, Shri Biren Singh calling on the Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, in New Delhi on September 06, 2017 (cropped).jpg15 March 2017
(4 years, 168 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyBiren
Conrad SangmaThe Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Shri Conrad Sangma.JPG6 March 2018
(3 years, 177 days)
National People’s PartySangma
ZoramthangaZoramthanga in 2008.jpg15 December 2018
(2 years, 258 days)
Mizo National FrontZoramthanga III
Neiphiu RioNeiphiuRio.jpg8 March 2018
(3 years, 175 days)
Nationalist Democratic Progressive PartyRio IV
Naveen PatnaikNaveenPatnaik.jpg5 March 2000
(21 years, 178 days)
Biju Janata DalPatnaik V
N. RangaswamyN Rangaswamy.jpg7 May 2021
(115 days)
All India N.R. CongressRangaswamy IV
Amarinder SinghAmarinder Singh.jpg16 March 2017
(4 years, 167 days)
Indian National CongressAmarinder II
Ashok GehlotAshok Gehlot 2012.jpg17 December 2018
(2 years, 256 days)
Indian National CongressGehlot III
Prem Singh TamangPrem Singh Tamang.jpg27 May 2019
(2 years, 95 days)
Sikkim Krantikari MorchaTamang
Tamil Nadu
M. K. StalinM K Stalinn.jpg7 May 2021
(115 days)
Dravida Munnetra KazhagamStalin
K. Chandrashekhar RaoKCR.png2 June 2014
(7 years, 89 days)
Telangana Rashtra SamithiRao II
Biplab Kumar DebBiplab Kumar Deb in 2018.jpg9 March 2018
(3 years, 174 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyDeb
Uttar Pradesh
Yogi AdityanathYogi Adityanath.jpg19 March 2017
(4 years, 164 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyYogi Adityanath
Pushkar Singh DhamiPushkar Singh Dhami Wiki, Age, Caste, Wife, Children, Family, Biography &  More – WikiBio4 July 2021
(57 days)
Bharatiya Janata PartyDhami
West Bengal
Mamata BanerjeeMamata Banerjee.jpg20 May 2011
(10 years, 102 days)
All India Trinamool CongressBanerjee III
You May Also Like